Achievement Awards | Darlington School

Darlington School

Achievement Awards

Grades Pre-K to 5

Passion for Learning Award Given to one student in each grade Pre-K to 2 and in each of the three main subject areas in grades 3-5. Recipients have been described as having a habit of going above and beyond in the classroom, a hunger for gaining wisdom and knowledge, and an eagerness for sharing all they have learned.

Lola C. Bradshaw Spirit of Life Award Established by her son, Martin H. “Tripp” Bradshaw III (’85), the Lola Bradshaw Spirit of Life Award is endowed through gifts made to Darlington in memory and in honor of Lola’s years of unselfish service by her family, friends and former students. It is given annually to the Lower School student who best exemplifies through attitude and actions both inside and outside the classroom, the highest spirit for life, love for learning, and unselfishness toward others.

Teresa Huffman Watters Award Established by Mr. and Mrs. William Huffman (’40) in honor of their daughter, Teresa Huffman Watters (’72T), who taught at the Lower School for 23 years. The award is presented annually to a student who has exhibited the following characteristics:

  • Growth in character which distinguishes him or her from others;
  • Growth in developing self-discipline by being responsible in all areas;
  • Growth in the desire for learning by working beyond expectations;
  • Growth in morals by discerning right from wrong;
  • Growth in friendships by being considerate of all, regardless of their differences;
  • Growth in becoming a solid person and student who should be proud of him or herself.

Grades 6-8

James Ross McCain Award
Given to an eighth-grade boy and girl who have demonstrated outstanding leadership ability in all areas of school life, but most importantly in the areas of academic, social, physical and spiritual leadership. Recipients best exemplify the characteristics of honor, independence and integrity, which are fundamentally essential qualities of leadership.
John W. Maddox Athletic Achievement Award
Given to the best all-around athlete.
M. Hugh Merson Memorial Award
Given to the eighth-grade boy and girl whose pursuit of excellence in all areas of school life best serve as examples to their fellow students, and who best represent the virtues of character, which Hugh Merson sought to instill in his students.
Mary Alice Babcock Memorial Award
Given to an eighth-grade student who has demonstrated a compassionate and caring attitude to fellow students; who is helpful, friendly, and thoughtful; and who, generally, places the welfare of others above his or her own.
Raymond Nora Memorial Award
Given to the football player who best exemplifies leadership, spirit and cooperation.
Robert Walther Jr. Memorial Award
Given to an eighth-grade student who has exhibited the strongest degree of concern and respect for his or her fellow students, and who has rendered unselfish service to the school.
Huffman Family Scholarship
Given to an eighth-grade student who exemplifies academic excellence, character and devotion to the school.
George A. Dorsey Memorial Award
Given every other year in honor of George Andrew Dorsey, longtime teacher whose example of gentleness and concern deeply influenced decades of Darlington students and faculty, this award recognizes that eighth-grade student who is distinguished by his or her own quest for the knowledge and love of living things. In Mr. Dorsey’s own words, “That’ll do, little bud.”
Citizenship Award
Presented to one student in each grade who has proven to be an overall friend to the school and its students through loyalty, kindness, attendance, allegiance and other good citizen attitudes.
DAR Good Citizenship Medal
Awarded to the eighth-grade student who has exhibited honor, service, leadership, courage and patriotism.





© 1997-2018, Darlington School | 1014 Cave Spring Road, Rome GA 30161 | 1-800-36-TIGER | Directions | Contact Us | Privacy Policies