Darlington School: Brown Dinner awards faculty, staff
Some text some message..

Brown Dinner awards faculty, staff

May 8, 2017 | 1884 views

Tara and Brian Inman received mantle clocks at the Brown Dinner in recognition for their 15th anniversary of working at Darlington.

Darlington School honored outstanding faculty and staff members at the annual Brown Faculty Appreciation Dinner, hosted by the Board of Trustees on Thursday, May 4.

The following faculty and staff members were recognized for their anniversaries: Crystal Cleveland, Chris Eberhart, Preston Jacobs (‘07), Michael Jacobs, Matthew Peal, Jess Peer, Kevin Ray, Paige Rogers, Mark Tunnell, 5 years; Ivy Brewer, Cindy Gordon, Paige Hamil, Doug Hamil, Kevin Hunt, Julie Lucas (‘97), 10 years; Brian Inman, Tara Inman, Vicki Vincent, 15 years; and Sam Moss (‘63), 35 years.

Retiring faculty members Reba Barnes, Theresa Dulaney and Raymond Murray were celebrated for their service to Darlington.

A Hanks Faculty Recognition Plaque was presented in honor of Raymond Murray, English. Made possible each year by Dr. Daniel J. Hanks Jr. (’61); his wife, Adeline (’62T); and their son, J. Daniel Hanks III (’99), this award was established to remind current students of the legacy they enjoy on a day-to-day basis.

Beachum Master Teaching Awards were presented to Shelley Daniel, Upper School theatre director, and Elisabeth Lawson, fourth grade teacher. They were nominated by faculty and selected by the head of school, the academic dean, and the division directors. The Beachum Award honors a member of the faculty who has accomplished something exceptional in his or her teaching, devoting time beyond the call of duty to students and to the teaching profession. This accomplishment may be in the form of extraordinary efforts to build student character or in the form of innovative programs. Established in 2004 by Mary (McCamy) Beachum (’63T), Robert A. Beachum (’94) and Julia Beachum, the Edward N. Beachum (’63) Master Teacher Award honors the Darlington alumnus and faculty member (1972-1989).

The George W. Awsumb Faculty Award was presented to Brian Inman, Upper School history teacher. Established anonymously in 1999 by a Darlington alumnus, the Awsumb Award is presented to a faculty member who exemplifies a personal commitment to the education and well-being of the superior and average student alike. This commitment is demonstrated by the unselfish desire of the faculty member to instruct and challenge students in both a professional and enthusiastic manner and by the ability of the faculty member to raise the overall level of education and quality of life at Darlington. The commitment is further demonstrated by the unselfish giving of time and energy to many diverse extracurricular activities and by the ability of the faculty member to empower his or her students with self-confidence and instill in them the desire to learn while not only at Darlington, but also for a lifetime. The award is given in the spirit of George W. Awsumb, Darlington faculty member from 1962-2009, and the recipient is selected by the head of school.

James Douglas Brown Jr. Faculty Awards were presented to Justin Bruce, Upper School learning specialist; Beth Wardlaw, ELA-8 technology integration specialist; Jill Babb, head of Cooper House; and Cristy Baldwin, ELA-8 Spanish teacher. Nominated by colleagues and selected by the head of school, the academic dean, and the division directors, a Brown Award recipient is one who has served the school well, in a competent and skillful manner, and one who has an interest in and a dedication to his or her work with the school and with the students. Brown Awards are endowed by Mr. and Mrs. James Douglas Brown of Ozark, Ala., in memory of their son, James Douglas Brown Jr.

Departing faculty and staff members in attendance were also recognized, including Adrienne Forgette, Tim Garrett, Renee Hutchins, Justin Merriam and Matthew Peal.


Recipients of the Carla and Leonard Wood Distinguished Faculty Fellowship and grant recipients from the Thatcher Faculty Development Fund were recognized and will be covered in a future news story.

Click here to view a photo gallery from the dinner.