Darlington School: National Honor Society inducts 30 members
Some text some message..

National Honor Society inducts 30 members

February 26, 2007 | 151 views

The Darlington School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 30 new members at a ceremony Monday, Feb. 26.

Each year, sophomores, juniors and seniors who have been at Darlington for the equivalent of one semester or more are eligible for induction. Students are eligible if their overall high school average is at least 87.5. Candidates also must have attained at least one major leadership role either through election or appointment, and must have been involved in two or more service activities per year.

Students who think that they meet these requirements must complete a student activities form to provide information regarding academic awards, character, leadership roles and service activities. Then, in accordance with national rules, a committee of five faculty members, chosen annually by the headmaster, selects new members of the society.

“Membership into the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student,” said Kay Lowe, adviser. “The selecting committee looks for students who reflect the ideals of the NHS by demonstrating excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and character. We are very proud of our new members.”

New members include Dylan Baker, Isabel Bonnyman, Garrett Brown, Grover Brown, Nat Brumbaugh, Rachel Buckle, Katherine Burton, Anisha Chandra, Eujin Cho, Alexandra Dodd, Lauren Dulaney, Ryan Gaffney, Mac Gilliland, Lauren Hampton, Cleve Jackson, Chang Lee, Laura Lynch, Caitlin Murray, Arm Napombejara, Matt Nelson, Kelly O’Mara, Cole Phillips, Monique Picon, Patrick Pierson, Jett Wayne Puckett, Laura Rhoades, Taylor Richardson, Cedrica Spivey, Lee Taylor and Ali Terrell.