Darlington School: National Honor Society inducts 44
Some text some message..

National Honor Society inducts 44

February 25, 2008 | 238 views

The Darlington School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 44 new members at a ceremony Monday, Feb. 25.

Each year, sophomores, juniors and seniors who have been at Darlington for the equivalent of one semester or more are eligible for induction. Students are eligible if their overall high school average is at least 87.5. Candidates also must have attained at least one major leadership role either through election or appointment, and must have been involved in two or more service activities per year.

Students who think that they meet these requirements must complete a student activities form to provide information regarding academic awards, character, leadership roles and service activities. Then, in accordance with national rules, a committee of five faculty members, chosen annually by the headmaster, selects new members of the society.

“Membership into the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student,” said Kay Lowe, adviser. “The selecting committee looks for students who reflect the ideals of the NHS by demonstrating excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and character. We are very proud of our new members.”

New members include Brody Anderson, Korea Black, Jaclyn Brass, Hunter Brooks, Spencer Carroll, Esha Chandra, Pattanun Chanpiwat, Bob Chen, Ryan Chiu, Caroline Clements, Angie Davidson, Wale Desalu, Mary Frances Doss, Katie Flint, Anna Fox, Tylon Garrett, Matthew Glover, Ben Goldberg, Brittany Hightower, Emily Jackson, Jennifer Jeong, Taylor Josey, Michael Lo, Jess Milner, Katie Mullen, Thuy Nguyen, A. Nutalaya, Will Orr, Jin Woo Park, Ross Rhoades, Molly Safigan, T.J. Shea, Kevin Shen, Esa Sofian, Anna Stephenson, Yumehito Takimoto, Martha Tucker, Sam Tumlin, Megan Ware, Eric Wetherington, John Weeks, A.J. White, Jack Yancey and Dam-Sil Yoo.