Darlington School: Phonathons raise over $134,000 for Annual Fund
Some text some message..

Phonathons raise over $134,000 for Annual Fund

September 27, 2007 | 228 views
In only three nights, volunteers for this year’s Fall Phonathon Week raised $134,730 for the 2007-08 Annual Fund. This puts the total amount raised at $435,497 with the Darlington community well on its way to achieving this year’s goal of $1.5 million.

“We aimed to raise a minimum of $100,000 at this week’s phonathons, and with the help of 30 alumni and parent volunteers I am pleased to say that we drastically exceeded our goal,” said Brooks Mathis, annual gifts officer. “We could not have done this without our dedicated volunteers. I’d also like to thank Bob Hortman (’72), chairman, for providing strong leadership to this year’s Annual Fund Board. Together, this group is achieving great things for Darlington.”

This week’s volunteers included Hortman, Jennifer Anderson, Justin Arpan, Caroline Seigler Brearely (’99), Ed Brewster (’61), Steve Brewster (’87), Henry Brown (’51), Larry Cagle, Ashley Clark (’99), Paula Englis, Pete (’57) and Suzy Gilbert, Ivey Harrison (’99), Scott Henson (’56), Christa Cline Jackson (’73T), Jack (’79) and Nancy Knight, Belinda MacKimm, Tim Morgan (’87), Chason Mull (’79), Lenora Santoro, Jack Smith (’98), Jo Stegall (’76), Lorie Thoms, Liz Tierney, Patty Tillery, Ed Watters (’83), Joe Watters (’80), and Steve (’73) and Ann Wilhoite.

“I’d like to thank each one of these people for their tremendous efforts on Darlington’s behalf,” said Mathis. “Everyone worked extremely hard to make this week a success. With this type of momentum and energy early on in the campaign, there are no limits to what we can accomplish this year.”

Also this month, the Middle School became the first division to reach 100-percent participation among faculty and staff, with the Lower School achieving the same goal only two weeks later. Together, these divisions donated $14,901 to the Annual Fund. The Upper School is close behind at 99 percent participation.

“I want to give a special thanks to our faculty chairpersons Beth Smith (’87), Susan Stout (’81) and Dan Bishop for heading up a great effort at all three divisions,” said Mathis. “These teachers have really set the precedent for faculty giving at Darlington.”

For more information about the Annual Fund, please contact Brooks Mathis at 706-236-0419. Click here to give online.