Darlington Calendar

Darlington School
Today

Major Events for 2017-2018

Last Updated: October 12, 2017

Houses Open for Invited Varsity Fall Athletes Sunday, July 30
Boarding Student Move-in Day (returning and new) Friday, August 18
Upper School Student Orientation for All 9th Grade and New Students Saturday, August 19
The Bash Before the Bell (One-School Fundraiser) Saturday, August 19
First Semester Monday, August 21, through Friday, December 15
Labor Day Holiday (school closed) Monday, September 4
Columbus Day (school closed) Monday, October 9
PSAT Administration Wednesday, October 11, 8 a.m.–Noon
Required of students grades 9–11; Required activity for seniors
Alumni Weekend Friday, October 13, through Sunday, October 15
Thanksgiving Break Saturday, November 18, through Monday, November 27
Residential houses close Saturday, November 18
Full day of classes Friday, November 17; classes resume Tuesday, November 28
Houses open Monday, November 27; Faculty/staff return Monday, November 27 for Professional Development Day
First Semester Ends Full day of classes Friday, December 15
Houses close Saturday, December 16 at 1 p.m.
Christmas Break Saturday, December 16, through Thursday, January 4
Classes resume Thursday, January 4
Residential houses open Wednesday, January 3; Faculty and staff return Wednesday, January 3 for Professional Development Day
Second Semester Thursday, January 4, through Thursday, May 24
Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday (school closed) Monday, January 15
Winter Musical Friday, February 16, through Sunday, February 18
Presidents Day (school closed) Monday, February 19
Spring Break Saturday, March 24, through Monday, April 2
Full day of classes Friday, March 23. Residential houses close Saturday, March 24 at 1 p.m.
Residential Houses open Monday, April 2; Classes resume Tuesday, April 3.
Advanced Placement Exams Monday, May 7, through Friday, May 18 (Anticipated Date)
Senior Second Semester Final Exams Monday, May 14, through Thursday, May 17
Upper School Honors Day Friday, May 18 1:30 p.m., Morris Chapel
Baccalaureate Friday, May 18, 7 p.m., Morris Chapel
Commencement Exercises Saturday, May 19, 9:30 a.m., Morris Chapel Lawn (Rain location: A.J. Huffman Center)
Last Day of School Thursday, May 24
Residential houses close Friday at 1 p.m.
School Year Ends Friday, May 25
Professional Development Day for Faculty/Staff

2017-2018 Travel Dates for Boarding Students

Invited Student Leaders Return by 5 p.m. Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Boarding Student Move-in Day by 5 p.m. Friday, August 18, 2017
Thanksgiving Break begins after classes, 3:30 pm on November 17
Friday, November 17, 2017
The Houses will be closed for this vacation. Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on the November 18. The Houses reopen on Monday, November 27, 2017. Students must return by 9 pm.
Classes resume Tuesday, November 28, 2017.
Christmas Break begins after classes, 3:30 p.m. on December 15 Friday, December 15, 2017
The Houses will be closed for this vacation. Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on December 16.
The Houses reopen on January 3, 2018. Students must return by 9 p.m.
Classes resume January 4, 2018.
Spring Break begins after classes, 3:30 p.m. on March 23 Friday, March 23, 2018
The Houses will be closed for this vacation.
Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on Saturday, March 24, 2018.
The Houses reopen on Monday, April 2, 2018. Students must return by 9 p.m.
Classes resume Tuesday, April 3, 2018.
Last Day of School Summer Vacation begins after classes, 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 25 Thursday, May 24th, 2018
Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on Friday, May 25.

ABOUT DARLINGTON

ADMISSION

PROGRAMS

COMMUNITY

         
© 1997-2017, Darlington School | 1014 Cave Spring Road, Rome GA 30161 | 1-800-36-TIGER | Directions | Contact Us | Privacy Policies